maison.jpg

EXPERIENCE

An ordinary

story told in an 

extraordinary way!

 
DSC_2366.jpg

About the house

An ordinary story told in an extraordinary way!

A beautiful house on the outside, and wait until you discover the treasures inside. Nothing ordinary here! Dieppe history, technology and humour combine to offer an exceptional visitor experience!

Maison Doiron_vignette.jpg
DSC_2380.jpg
DSC_2388.jpg
 

A bit of history

Doiron House was built in 1841 by Joseph Doiron, a writer, justice of the peace and prosperous Acadian farmer. It was a luxurious Acadian house in its time. The preservation of the original masonry hearth—the only known Acadian house that still has one—is part of the house’s unique character.

Financially well-off, Mr. Doiron had a very spacious house built, which also served as an Acadian school and a place for community meetings and debates. The house reflects the traditions and architecture of the period and constitutes an important contribution to our history and that of Acadia.

The house was passed down to Joseph Doiron’s descendants from generation to generation until the City of Dieppe acquired it in 2016 to preserve the story of this important piece of the region’s history.

The tour

Prepare to dive into an adventure that will transport you through the various eras that make up the history of Doiron House and where you will help a young girl named Marie find a valuable object. With the help of a tablet loaned to you upon arrival, you will be accompanied by a guide who will help you discover the best-kept secrets of the families who lived there. It’s also possible to visit the house the traditional way, thanks to the interpretation panels and artifacts present throughout the tour. 

iStock-997915300-smaller.png
 

A GLIMPSE INTO THE PAST

 

SCHEDULE

Open June 2 to September 5

Monday & Tuesday

1 to 5 p.m.

Wednesday to Sunday

10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

ADMISSION

Dieppe is celebrating 70 years of incorporation! Visits taking place between June 2 and September 5, 2022, are free.

CONTACT US

Phone

506.382.1841

Email

maison.doiron.house@dieppe.ca

 
 
Photo-vraie.png

Hours of operation

Open June 2 to September 5

Monday & Tuesday

1 to 5 p.m.

Wednesday to Sunday

10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

1150 Amirault Street

Dieppe, NB  E1A 1E1

maison.doiron.house@dieppe.ca
Tel: 506.382.1841

Contact Us

Merci ! / Thank you!

maison.jpg

EXPÉRIENCE

Une histoire ordinaire racontée de façon
extraordinaire!

 

La Maison Doiron

Une histoire ordinaire racontée
de façon extraordinaire!

Historique, belle de l’extérieur, mais attendez de découvrir les trésors qui se trouvent à l’intérieur! Ici, rien d’ordinaire ne vous attend. C’est plutôt une expérience où l’histoire de Dieppe, la technologie et l’humour se rencontrent!

maison-doiron2.png
Visite-gratuite2.png
Maison Doiron_vignette.jpg
 

L'Histoire

La Maison Doiron fut construite en 1841 par Joseph Doiron, écrivain, juge de paix et agriculteur acadien prospère. Il s’agit d’une maison acadienne luxueuse pour son époque. La conservation de sa maçonne (ou âtre) d’origine, la seule maison acadienne connue qui la possède toujours, fait partie de son cachet unique.
 

Étant à l’aise financièrement, monsieur Doiron se fit construire une maison très spacieuse qui servit également d’école acadienne, de lieu de rencontres et de débats communautaires. Cette maison, gardienne des traditions et de l’architecture d’époque, est une importante contribution à notre histoire et à celle de l’Acadie.
 

La maison s’est transmise aux descendants de Joseph Doiron de génération en génération, jusqu’à ce la Ville de Dieppe en fasse l’acquisition en 2016 avec l’objectif de faire prospérer l’histoire de ce morceau du patrimoine de la région.

La visite

Préparez-vous à être plongé au cœur d’une aventure où on vous transportera à travers les époques faisant partie de l’histoire de la Maison Doiron. À l’aide d’une tablette prêtée à votre arrivée, vous serez accompagné d’un guide qui vous fera découvrir les secrets les mieux gardés des familles y ayant vécu. Il est également possible d’effectuer la visite de façon traditionnelle, grâce aux panneaux d’interprétation et artéfacts présents tout au long du parcours.

DSC_2380.jpg
DSC_2366.jpg
DSC_2388.jpg
 

UN CLIN D'OEIL SUR UNE AUTRE ÉPOQUE

 

HORAIRE

Ouvert du 2 juin au 5 septembre

Lundi et mardi

13 h à 17 h

Mercredi au dimanche

10 h à 17 h

LES PRIX

 

Dieppe célèbre 70 ans depuis son incorporation! Les visites ayant lieu entre le 2 juin et 5 septembre 2022 sont gratuites.

Maximum de 6 personnes par groupe

COMMUNIQUEZ AVEC NOUS

Téléphone

506.382.1841

Courriel

maison.doiron.house@dieppe.ca
 

 
 
Photo-vraie.png

Heures d'opération

Ouvert du 2 juin au 5 septembre

Lundi et mardi

13 h à 17 h

Mercredi au dimanche

10 h à 17 h

1150, rue Amirault 

Dieppe, N.-B.  E1A 1E1

maison.doiron.house@dieppe.ca
Tel: 506.382.1841

Contactez-Nous

Merci ! / Thank you!